We will be speaking at the Nowak Society on May 29, 2024, 6:30 – 8:30, discussing Colorado’s Natural Medicine Health Act (psychedelics?). Click here to learn more

Domestic Violence – Harassment

Colorado’s harassment laws are encompassing, covering everything from physical intimidation to threatening someone online. Generally, any unwanted contact in person or digitally can be considered harassment.

Those convicted of harassment can be sentenced to months in jail and hundreds of dollars in fines. If you are charged with harassment, it is recommended that you seek the advice of an experienced criminal defense attorney.

Defense Lawyer for Harassment in Colorado Springs, CO

Are you accused of harassment and been charged with it in Colorado? It is important to protect your rights. Harassment is a serious charge and, in some cases, can be considered domestic violence. Contacting a knowledgeable criminal defense attorney is in your best interest.

The attorneys at Law Offices of Clifton Black, PC have in-depth knowledge of Colorado law. We have the skills and experience to create a strong defense for your case. Call us now at (719)328-1616 to set up a consultation. Law Offices of Clifton Black, PC accepts clients throughout the greater Colorado Springs area including Fountain, Calhan, and Manitou Springs.

Overview of harassment in Colorado

What Does Colorado Consider to Be Harassment?

Under Colorado law, a person can be charged with harassment by striking, shoving, kicking or otherwise touching someone without their consent in a nonsexual manner. Yelling obscene language or making an obscene gesture at someone can also be considered harassment.

Following someone in public who does not wish to be contacted is also an offense. The law makes it a criminal offense for an individual to call someone repeatedly, contacting someone consistently at inconvenient hours, and constantly using insulting or offensive language at someone.

America does allow for the freedom of speech however, that does not permit people to harass and threaten other people.

What is Kiana Arellano’s Law?

The law is named after a teen who was the victim of frequent cyberbully attacks. Kiana Arellano’s Law makes cyberbullying criminal harassment. Under the law, obscene language or language intended to cause a person harm is prohibited.

This law protects people from harassment through telephone calls, texting, online, social media and other electronic forms of communication. 


Consequences of harassment in Colorado

Harassment is generally considered a class 3 misdemeanor in Colorado, which can result in six months in jail and up to $750 in fines.

If the harassment includes intimidation due to a person’s perceived race, color, religion, ancestry or national origin, the charge is enhanced to a class 1 misdemeanor, which can result in six to 18 months in jail and up to $5,000 in fines.

Additional Resources
U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission – The federal agency explains when harassment becomes unlawful in the workplace. Some of the same guidelines can be applied when it comes to assessing harassment outside of work environments as well.

Discrimination, Harassment and Mistreatment – The Colorado Department of Labor Employment has resources for those who believe they were harassed at work.

Defense Lawyer for Harassment in El Paso County, CO

If you or someone you know has been charged with harassment, a defense lawyer can be your best course of action to retaining your rights. An arrest for harassment can ruin your reputation and end in prison time. Contact Law Offices of Clifton Black, PC to learn what your available legal options are today.

The attorneys at Law Offices of Clifton Black, PC are well-versed in Colorado’s legal system. We can assist you by investigating evidence, cross-examining witnesses and whatever else is need for your case. Call (719)328-1616 now to set up a consultation. Law Offices of Clifton Black, PC accepts clients throughout the greater El Paso County area including El Paso County, Denver County and Arapahoe County.

Contact Us

Related Articles

How Do You Find Out if You Have a Warrant in Colorado?

If a person who is criminally charged has a right to a preliminary hearing, it is obvious that the case has serious consequences that could have a negative impact on a person’s life for the remainder of their life.

Exceptional Experience & Results

We’ve served Colorado for 20 years, focusing on Cannabis Law, Criminal Defense and Business Law. We always put our clients first. Our team works hard to protect your rights and meet your needs. We aim for the best results in every case we handle.

Schedule Your Consultation with a Trusted Attorney Today!